RSS

Seeing a UFO

03 Oct

UFO’s have become a fixture of modern American culture.  It has become so popular and widespread that it has become the label of an entire community.  This community believes that extraterrestrials are visiting Earth.  From my perspective, whenever the phrase UFO is used, it pertains to people who have seen something strange in the sky and aren’t able to identify it and then become believers in alien visitations.  However, this perspective is a bit biased because whenever I come across people who tell stories about UFO’s, they are also believers in aliens.

But to be honest, I once saw a UFO myself.  I saw it when I was still living in the house I grew up in.  I can’t remember exactly why, but I was out walking down my street when I saw it. As I was making my way down the street, I got a glimpse of something in the sky before it went behind a house.  Since I only got a glimpse of the object, I wasn’t able to immediately identify what it was.  However, after some time had gone by, accompanied by some critical thinking, I was able to conclude that what I saw was the tail section of a private plane that was flying in the area. What helped me reach this conclusion was the fact that I noticed other private planes flying around before I saw it.

It’s important to note what I mean by UFO.  What UFO stands for is “Unidentified Flying Object.”  If you see something moving in the sky that you cannot identify, then it is a UFO.  This is the basic meaning of the phrase.  And when I use the phrase UFO here in this essay, as well as generally, I’m using it in this basic meaning: it’s an Unidentified Flying Object. However, when other people use the phrase, UFO stands for a visiting alien spacecraft.  But that’s not what it means.  It’s a flying object that you cannot identify.  That’s it, and nothing more.  It’s important not to read anything more into it than that.  But because humanity is a pattern seeking creature, we want to give greater meaning to things then they really deserve.

What inspired me to write this entry was because I saw two red dots flying in the night sky last night while I was sitting in the hot tub at my current residence.  As I was sitting there, staring at them, I was interested.  But after about a seconds thought, I realized that they were nothing more than private planes of terrestrial origin.  I noticed a lot of private planes, as well as a few helicopters, flying around the area, so I was able to quickly conclude that those little red dots must have been private planes.  And what allowed me to reach such a conclusion so quickly was the fact that I had a continuing, uninterrupted view of the objects.  And once I figured out what the objects were, I no longer cared what they were because I was able to figure them out.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 3, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Seeing a UFO

Leave a Reply

 
